Reviews, Uncategorized

Review (Skin Care): Watsons Chamomile Calming and Softening Facial Mask

My friends gave me sheet masks for my birthday (it was then when I first tried leveling up my skin care game) but I didn’t try them immediately because there’s a warning in the package that it shouldn’t be used on damaged skin. I didn’t know what is considered damaged, and I have oily and pimple prone skin, so that made me cautious about the product.

I decided to try one today because I thought I will never really know whether or not sheet masks are effective for me if I don’t try. Also, if I try it later and my skin react in a bad way, it will be harder to treat the damage and I will stress about time constraints (since I’m doing all of this to improve and eventually clear my skin before my wedding) which will then worsen my skin situation.

img_6037

Anyway, let’s move on to the review.

Experience:

I tried this one before sleeping. I washed my face with Aveeno Clear Complexion Foaming Cleanser then toned it twice with Nivea Aqua Effect Mattifying Toner. Then, I put on the mask.

I had quite a hard time trying to make the mask stick to my face. It had small holes for the eyes and I worried that products could get into my eyes if I’m not careful. The lip hole was quite small as well, which also made me worried about unintentionally getting product into my mouth.

I was trying to make the mask stick and I get excess product in my hands, so I spread them on the back of my hands, on my neck, elbows, arms and knees (because they’re dry). The package said that I should put the mask on for 15 to 20 mins. But as I was waiting, the back of my hand started to itch and I noticed that it got red and had bumps (like mini mosquito bites). I slightly panicked, but since I don’t feel anything on my face, I continued to wait for my 15 minutes to finish. Then my arm started to itch as well. I removed my mask after a short while. I had it on for more than 10 minutes but under the suggested 15 minutes.

I didn’t notice anything really bad when I removed it so I just removed the product that was in my under-eye (because they say that part has thinner skin and is more sensitive than other parts of the face) and let the rest of the product on my face be absorbed (or evaporate, whichever happened faster). It feels sticky when it dried. I got conscious after some time (around 40 minutes) and worried that it will cause new pimple to show up the morning, so I rinsed my face.

I woke up with slightly paler pimples though. I guess the mask was effective for calming. Some of the bumps seemed more flat as well the next morning.

Rating: 7/10

This is my first sheet mask so I don’t have anything to compare it with so far. Overall I’m giving this mask 7/10 because it was hard to put on and make it stick to my face, especially in the area around my nose and mouth. The holes for the eyes, nose and mouth were a little too small which made the mask hard to adjust. I don’t like that it’s sticky after it dries, though maybe sheet masks tend to feel like that since they’re packed with essence. But, I liked that it was effective even when I rinsed my face to get rid of the sticky feeling. It seemed to really calmed and soothed my skin, and it showed when I looked at my pimples the next morning. It also didn’t make my skin extra oily. img_6038

Also, it’s really cold last night and my skin reacts like I have skin allergy whenever it gets too cold. So, maybe the redness and bumps were actually caused by that and it wasn’t an allergic reaction to the mask’s solution. They were gone after some time as well. I didn’t feel any kind pain, tingling or stinging while the mask was on, so I’m now assuming that the damage mentioned in the warning refers to damage caused by too much sun exposure, burns or wounds.

It wasn’t so bad. I was too afraid for nothing. XD I can now use the rest of my sheet mask collection with less worry.

Leave a Reply

